HomeBusinessThe rain stopped at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium and the covers were...

The rain stopped at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium and the covers were removed from the wicket

- Advertisement -

City 42: The first T20 match between Pakistan and New Zealand at Rawalpindi Stadium was finally canceled due to rain.

Shortly after the rain stopped, the umpires decided that the match would only be five overs due to time constraints. The match started between the two teams. New Zealand openers Tim Robinson and Tim Seifert came to the wicket. Two runs were scored in the bye leg on the first ball and Tim Robinson lost his wicket on the second ball of Shaheen Afridi. This was Tim Robinson’s first game.

After New Zealand’s first wicket fell, the rain started again before the new batsman came to the wicket. The wicket was covered once more.

After heavy rain resumed in Rawalpindi, even playing five overs looked doubtful, so the umpires canceled the match.


The heavy rain at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium stopped several times before and after the start of the match, but the clouds started pouring again as the game was being prepared for the start of the match. For the first time after 8 o’clock at night, when the break from stopping the rain was a little longer, the toss was held, won by New Zealand captain Michael Bracewell and announced to bat first. After half an hour the game started, before the first ball was dropped, it started raining heavily and water started pouring down, the wicket was immediately covered.

After that, the rain stopped several times, but the cover could not be removed from the wicket.

Once the rain stopped, the cover was removed from the wicket and after some time it had to be covered again.

The last time there was a rain break, an attempt was made to make a five-over game, but the rain also failed.

A wonderful wicket!

After winning the toss, captain Bracewell said, “It’s a great wicket and we’ll score a lot of runs here.” He said today is Tim Robinson’s first game for New Zealand.

Happy to have a new team

After losing the toss, Pakistan captain Babar Azam said that due to the cloudy condition, he wanted to bowl himself, if he had won the toss, he would have preferred to bowl. Babar Azam said he was happy to have a new team and wanted to test the skills of some players.

Babar Azam called the first six overs Essential.

Throw delay

The first match of the T20 series between Pakistan and New Zealand is being held today at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, but due to the rain, the toss of the match could not be done yet. According to the schedule, the toss of the game was supposed to take place at 6:30pm today and the game was supposed to start at 7:00pm, but the rain has not given time to do the toss so far .

Today’s match in Pakistan is eagerly awaited as it is the first match after captain Babar Azam’s return to the driving seat. In today’s match, many new cricketers enter the field along with Babar Azam, while the New Zealand team is led by Michael Bracewell. Many important players of New Zealand did not come to Pakistan with this team, while many new players were included in the team.

Tim Seifert, James Yasham, Ash Sodhi, Tom Blundell are the prominent faces of Michael Bracewell’s team. Michael Bracewell was sent to Pakistan with new players in the absence of several key players to captain for the series, with some critics calling it New Zealand’s “B team”.

Pakistan’s T20 team today is also not the same one that went to New Zealand and lost the T20 series by four to one. Pakistan’s captain has changed and veteran Babar Azam is back who has suggested testing several new players in today’s game. While veterans Imad Wasim and Mohammad Amir have retired from international cricket, they are taking a second birth in national cricket today.

Team New Zealand

Tim Seifert, Tim Robinson, Dan Foxcroft, Mark Chapman, James Nesham, Michael Bracewell (Captain), Josh Clarkson, Ish Sodhi, Jack Duffy, Ben Sears, Benjamin Lister

Team Pakistan

Babar Azam, Saeem Ayub, Muhammad Rizwan, Usman Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Usman Khan, Jadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Muhammad Amir, Abrar Ahmed.

- Advertisement -

Most Popular